Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Is abortion the next genocide?

with 2 comments

As many of you probably already know there was a campaign here on campus with signs reading “warning genocide pictures ahead” but as you kept walking the only pictures shown were about abortion and that having an abortion is killing a person. I am not pro abortion, but in some situations it is understandable. But I was outraged at this campaign. To downplay and degrade actual genocides by comparing them to abortion I feel is wrong. Genocides such as Rwanda and Afar affected many people around the world. Even though I am not for abortion I feel that the only people directly affected is the family. Also I was watching the news the other day and there was a segment about abortion being the number one or at least a top killer in African Americans. They were bascially saying that blacks have more abortions than whites and turned the entire concept to make it a racial issue. Why is the idea or concept of abortion so HUGE in our society that in order to prevent it we would resort to compaing it to a genocide and making it a racial matter.

Written by tayokam

February 25, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think by saying abortion is the next genocide is a strong belief. Do I believe it, I don’t know. Genocide means killing a targeted race, political group or cultural group doesn’t it. Why are unborn babies an exception? Based on the definition abortion could be categorized in this definition I think, I mean you are killing something that could be born in a specific amount of months. However, by law before a certain amount of weeks a baby isn’t defined as a citizen yet; even though heartbeats start as early as 9 or 10 weeks.

    I don’t believe in abortions either but, in some cases I understand the reasons. Believe it or not, fathers and cousins do rape family members or other nasty things like that. Does this justify abortion, I think so. I wouldn’t want to carry my father’s child. Getting an abortion because you are not ready to be a parent? No, adoption is an suggestion though.

    misssandib

    February 26, 2010 at 3:00 pm

  2. I agree with the previous response because if you look at the meaning of genocide, abortion kind of falls under that meaning. Also I am against abortion but in some cases it is necessary, but there are some people that have abortion just for the hell of it. For example, I worked at a job when I was a senior in high school and one of my shift manager was a young white female around the age of 22 used to tell the crew how she always have unprotected sex with numerous male and whenever she would get pregnant, she would have an abortion because in her words ” an abortion is cheaper than raising a baby.” And that is just wrong!!!

    jobyjob

    February 26, 2010 at 3:09 pm


Leave a Reply

