Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

i dont discriminate….

with 2 comments

I dont discriminate when it comes to my safety. I feel like people have a fear of Blacks at time. Like all Blacks are the devil or some nonesense like that. I dont know if its from a past experience or tales from the 60’s about black being hypersexualized, violent, and etc. Why wont people realize that all those claims were from peole who were out right racist. Just like the racist anthropologist who claimed brain size made a difference or that black arose from chimps. Like I stated before I dont discriminate when it comes to my safety. When I’m in my car on the side of the road, walking, etc. I’ve seen white women grab their purse in fear or an African American individual walking by despite the possibility that, that individual could be a neurosurgeon. So when I’m doing activities around other people I dont care what walks by or who, or whatever race I clench my purse too, I lock my car doors if a 8 year old walks by. I dont discriminate if I’m in an unfamiliar place and I have 2 males/ 2 females next to me one white and one black and I need directions. I walk/ speed up faster and use my phone to tell me the directions. To me the question of what makes a theif/killer/rapist is neither black nor white. I wish other idiots would get real too!

Written by ineeduf

February 25, 2010 at 2:55 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I completely agree. I do the same thing because realistically you dont know who is capable of harming you. They can be black or white so when I fear for my safety I dont discriminate. If Im in an unfamiliar place I fear people I dont know regardless of their race or gender.

    taishae

    February 27, 2010 at 1:31 am

  2. I was walking downtown the other night after some friends and I left a club and were going to find something to eat and one of my friends knew a ‘back way’ to get to a sandwich place….well we were headed in the direction and there were some sketchy looking black guys hanging out down a street and there weren’t any lights. I said “let’s just go the normal way” and a friend goes “well that’s racist” and laughs. In reality, it wasn’t racist at all but people WANTED it to be so that’s what they saw. I was scared of the creepy back road with no lights and if there had been sketchy looking white guys down that road, I still wouldn’t have wanted to go! It’s not race people, it’s the environment and your human instinct to avoid creepy dark paths late at night.

    cgator19

    February 28, 2010 at 1:54 am


Leave a Reply

