Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

John Mayer

with 3 comments

So most people know John Mayer for his sarcasim or lack of filter during interviews, but his interview with Playboy magazine made alot people angry when asked if Black women threw themselves at him, he responded by saying “I don’t think I open myself to it. My d*ck is sort of like a white supremacist. I’ve got a Benetton heart and a fu–in’ David Duke cock. I’m going to start dating separately from my di-k. …I always thought Holly Robinson Peete was gorgeous. Every white dude loved Hilary from The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. And Kerry Washington. She’s super hot and she’s also white-girl crazy. Kerry Washington would break your heart like a white girl. Just all of a sudden she’d be like, ‘Yeah, I sucked his d*ck. Whatever.” Ok as a John Mayer fan and a young Black woman I was a little offended, did he really need to use white supremacist as a metaphor. Why couldn’t he simply say I’m not attracted to Black women, I could’ve lived with that. No he had to put his foot in his mouth.

Written by tif7

February 21, 2010 at 1:54 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is another example of a famous person, putting their foot in their mouth once again…u know…the only thing i have to say about his comment is that it was simply ignorant.

    medusmango

    February 21, 2010 at 3:01 am

  2. Yeah this is over the top. As you said, John Mayer uses “sarcasm or lack of filter during interviews,” which is generally part of why I like him as do many others, but he really never knows where to draw the line and that is no excuse for what he said this time.

    iAnsw3R

    February 21, 2010 at 4:15 am

  3. john mayer says very wierd things all the time.

    alyssa1965

    February 22, 2010 at 3:50 am


Leave a Reply

