Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Names?

with 4 comments

Let me start off by saying I work in a very racist environment, I usually ignore things I hear mostly because I’m so busy and occasionally I voice my opinion if something needs to be said.  The other day everyone was talking about how you can tell what race a person is by their name before you look at them. Really? “Blacks girls got all the crazy names and asian people names all sound the same”. Interesting…my friend Alexa doesn’t exactly have an Asian-exclusive name even though she’s Asian. I know four different Davids…two are black, one is white and one is hispanic.  I brought this up and someone said “yea, but most of the time, you can tell…I’m  not saying all people have names that reflect their race, I’m saying if someone’s name is Latisha, you know she’s a black girl”…I told this employee that she can’t just assume someone’s race because of their name and before I could continue, she said “girl, I’m black, don’t try to act like I’m being racist”. So now not only can you tell someone’s race by their name, but apparently if you’re black and you made such a statement you couldn’t possibly be being racist. :-/

Written by cgator19

February 19, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow this is the kind of ignorance we talk about in class. I think a lot of us need to realize how common it is. Sometimes I feel like some of us get lost in all of our discussions, and forget that this is something we see in the majority of people we come into contact with everyday.

    elianita514

    February 20, 2010 at 3:20 am

  2. I hear that a lot also and I feel that a name doesn’t make a race. Ignorant people tend to actually pay attention to stereotypes and judge people based on these stereotypes. I think its sad because I’m sure that employers judge people based on their names also and some people don’t get hired because of that. People of all races have all types of names. Certain names don’t belong to certain races.

    taishae

    February 20, 2010 at 8:00 pm

  3. Wow. I cannot believe that someone would say these things. First of all, for them to be so ignorant as to think that a name can tell you someone’s race is ridiculous and definitely does not apply. Another thing that bothers me is that this girl thinks that just because she is black, she is allowed to say these racist things.

    tjurgonski

    February 21, 2010 at 12:48 am

  4. I’m really tired of people thinking that a name can predict someone’s race. Super model Tyra Banks discussed the topic of names and ethnicities on her show and discussed how this myth isn’t true. People need to stop being ignorant and wake up from the stereotypes.

    eclass08

    February 22, 2010 at 1:24 am


Leave a Reply

