Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Just an Education?

with one comment

Is all education the same at every university? HBC’s compared to regular schools, is there a difference? Who would get hired first out of a candidate from each school?

Is an education just an education, I mean excluding top schools such as Yale, Harvard and etc?

 I was on the bus one day headed to class I had on my black college reunion shirt. As I took my seat this white guy looked at my shirt and laughed. Under his breath he mumbles, “what a joke.” What do I say to that? In my opinion he doesn’t take black colleges seriously. I have one question for him though, why is it that white colleges should be taken seriously but HBC’s shouldn’t? Morehouse, Spellman, and Standford and others are outstanding great schools that are taken seriously. And they are predominantly black colleges.

Written by misssandib

February 19, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve never really thought about this before. I guess, sadly, it would depend on who was doing the hiring as to whether or not it would matter if the person was from a HBC or some other university. Regardless of what people may think, I wholeheartedly believe that the education levels are the same. Education is a lot about what you put into it. To judge someone solely based on where they got their education, especially if it it because of the racial history of that college, is wrong.

    lehnertsl

    February 19, 2010 at 4:16 pm


Leave a Reply

