Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

comments about “Racism without Racists”

with 4 comments

I noticed that the people I thought would get mad about the book actually did and the people that understood where the author was coming from didn’t get mad. I honestly liked the book because I felt as if it actaully stood up for African-Americans. I honestly don’t think that he meant to offend any white individual. He, in the chapter we didn’t read,  talks about white progressives who actually agreed with affirmative action, etc. the things that he mentioned in the book are what black people see everyday so we understand where he’s coming from.

Written by alyssa1965

February 19, 2010 at 3:59 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree I liked the book as well. Not only does he recognize the struggles blacks and other minorities face everyday he adds perspective to it. I always knew there was discrimination against blacks but I never thought about some of the approaches he discussed.

    tayokam

    February 19, 2010 at 2:31 pm

  2. I am White and I honestly see the book as highly offensive and do not enjoy reading it.

    amgostigian

    February 19, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    • I’m sure you would think that it is highly offensive because you don’t see the world the way we do. Have you ever been followed in a store, have you ever had anyone call you some sort of racial slur, have you ever had a woman clutch onto her purse a little tighter when you walk by, have you ever wondered if your white friends were really your friends or just hung around you because you were black and that made them look “diverse”, have you ever been told you got into the school of your dreams simply because you were black and not smart repeadtedly . You don’t have someone every single day reminding you of your color and how it is unfortunate that i’m not white. I’m sorry but you will never see this world the way blacks do. The only time you probably stop and truly think about race is in a class like this. I don’t mean to single you out, I just want you to understand that blacks live this life every single day. Do you know how hard it is to do anything right and not have people mention your race at all. How can you be offended by this book when the things told in it are true, we are denied better housing, we in general have the worst schools, etc. Not every black person is lazy as many would assume. and for the ones who do work hard and try to move up the latter, there met by racist white people who hold that power unfortunately for many blacks to move up the latter. Honestly, this book spoke nothing but the pure TRUTH.

      alyssa1965

      February 19, 2010 at 9:21 pm

  3. I’m Black and I honestly thought he was a little hard on White’s. I recognize that White’s as the majority hold an influence on race, but i would have like to see other races perspective on race. This book was just depressing in my opinion.

    tif7

    February 21, 2010 at 1:32 am


Leave a Reply

