Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

When do we start seeing color?

with 4 comments

So I went and visited the Kindergarten class where I did my internship today. The class is learning about black history and slavery. They read a book about slavery and how the blacks were trying to escape to freedom. One of the boys in the class raised there hand and said “So that would be like if ____ was really black (he is in fact African American) and if there really were white people who were mean and put him in jail. It wouldn’t be very nice.”
Its just amazing to see that he wasn’t pointing him out as actually being black. These kids don’t see color at such a young age. It was definately interesting to see how into the story they were and what they thought about what was happening in it at such a young age.

So I went and visited the Kindergarten class where I did my internship today. The class is learning about black history and slavery. They read a book about slavery and how the blacks were trying to escape to freedom. One of the boys in the class raised there hand and said “So that would be like if ____ was really black (he is in fact African American) and if there really were white people who were mean and put him in jail. It wouldn’t be very nice.”
Its just amazing to see that he wasn’t pointing him out as actually being black. These kids don’t see color at such a young age. It was definately interesting to see how into the story they were and what they thought about what was happening in it at such a young age.

It got me wondering if we actually were all once like this and if we were, at what point did we lose our ability to be colorblind?

Written by melp8

February 18, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I do believe we were all once colorblind but then we were influenced by our family, we learned new things because of what we grew up around,our own experiences, etc. the list goes on and on.

    alyssa1965

    February 19, 2010 at 3:33 am

  2. I think we were born colorblind. I remember having friends of different races when I was very young, but I wasn’t made aware of “race” in the sense I think of it now until my mother sat me down and gave me a talk about racism.

    chrissybear

    February 19, 2010 at 4:58 am

  3. I think at that age our main concern is having friends. Also its easier to make friends that are trusting at that age. But as we get older we are not as oblivious to what is going on our us and we start to realize the differences. Our parents are a major factor, but also tv. As a child we watched cartoons or other shows where everyone of every race gets along, but as we get older the shows we watch change. We start watching movies where blacks are depicted as lazy, violent criminals and whites are the hard-working rich executives.

    tayokam

    February 19, 2010 at 2:38 pm

  4. I can’t remember the time I started seeing color. But I can remember when I was in kindergarten and I knew this one girl was white and I was black. I mean I knew our skin colors were different but I always thought we were the same. We both ere girls, had longer hair than boys and played house. The girls played and did girl things and the boys did boy things. I guess I only categorized my peers and me into girl and boy groups.

    My little cousin is 5 and she does know she is black and some of her friends his white. However, she classifies my other little 8 year old cousin as being white because he is mixed. I don’t know she says he’s white.

    misssandib

    February 19, 2010 at 3:16 pm


Leave a Reply

