Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Fair Day

with 5 comments

On saturday I attended the florida state fair in Tampa. Everything was nice and fun. As we began to end our night at the fair, the guys I was with were approached by gang task law enforcement and were asked to pull up  their pants. Now their pants were not that low to begin with but i feel that the housing of the pants are a part of hip hop culture. Yes I kno at times its kind of out of control when they are below their behinds but if its not showing much why should these young men be bothered and they arent causeing a disturbance. I feel like if they can’t sag their pants just a little then some men shouldnt be able to wear pants that are rediculously tight or that go above their knees.

Written by gwendo89

February 17, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t know if you meant to exhibit any form of racism in this post, but if so, I don’t think it’s particularly racist or “singling them out”. I feel that wearing your pants a certain way may be apart of a culture but it’s still inappropriate if it pushes any boundaries at a family-oriented event, much in the same way that a girl wearing booty shorts or a too-skimpy top would be asked to cover up.

    cgator19

    February 19, 2010 at 4:01 pm

  2. I laughed out loud when I read this. It’s really sad that our society has gotten to the point where we think we know that much about a person because of the level at which they wear their pants. Regardless of the person’s race, the clothes that people wear greatly impact how people view them. I’m not saying it’s always wrong but you should give people the benefit of the doubt before you jump to conclusions about them because of their fashion choices.

    lehnertsl

    February 19, 2010 at 4:21 pm

  3. I agree with the first comment. The fair is a family event and I think it’s inappropriate to have a guy’s pants sagging at such an event. I honestly do not see this as fashion choice but as common courtesy to the people around you. No one want to see your behind and I think it’s really distracting when people do that.

    amgostigian

    February 19, 2010 at 8:37 pm

  4. Umm , family event or not they can wear whatever they want as long as its not disrespectful. They have Hannah Montana on stage wearing nothing but a mini skirt and a tank top full of cleavage and I don’t see them telling her to put some clothes on. As you said, he wasn’t showing much, so I don’t see the big deal. Some guys find it more comfortable to wear their jeans a little lower.

    rphilp88

    February 20, 2010 at 7:52 pm

  5. I kinda agree with the first comment, but on the other hand I feel as though clothing choice is up to the person and it is not really they’re responsiblity to please anyone.

    tif7

    February 21, 2010 at 2:00 am


Leave a Reply

