Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Working at an ethnic resturant….

with 5 comments

Do you need to be a certain race to work at a restaurant?  For example should it be necessary for someone to be Mexican to work at a Mexican restaurant or Chinese to work at a Chinese restaurant?  Well I work at an ethnic college restaurant, which many at UF attend (BENTO RED).  While working this weekend I had a customer come in and turn to his girlfriend and say, “where are all the Asians, I thought this was a Japanese/Chinese restaurant!”  He then proceeded to point out to his girlfriend that there were white boys in the back working in the kitchen and said i was Hispanic.  I looked at him and laughed and told him that I wasn’t anywhere near Hispanic, and in fact was Asian (but why should that matter?) and that there weren’t just white boys in the back making his meal there were also two Mexicans who are our main cooks on wok.  My point is that it shouldn’t matter what race you are to work at a restaurant.  It goes back to the idea of being denied a job  because the color of your skin.  I just thought it was funny how ignorant he sounded when he made those comment.

Written by jeanliiping

February 16, 2010 at 1:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He did sound really ignorant because he is kind of then implying that only Asians will be good at cooking and serving Chinese food, which is so incorrect. It does not matter what ethnicity a person is; what matters is if they are good at their job or not.

    cristyb7513

    February 16, 2010 at 1:42 am

  2. I agree with you that it was an ignorant statement, however, I think he was trying to convey that people of Asian ethnicity are better able to cook Asian food then someone of a different race. I think that is where he was coming from when he made that statement. I do not believe that anyone should be denied a job at an ethnic restaurant just because they do not fit the stereotype for the cuisine.

    amgostigian

    February 16, 2010 at 3:33 am

  3. That was a very ignorant comment and i feel that people feel that that is the custom now and that people of their own race should stick with people of their own race. I feel that this man is living in the past and really needs to wake up.

    bmcdaniel91

    February 18, 2010 at 6:03 pm

  4. You know reading this reminds me of a comment my bf said when going into Bentos. He kind of said the same thing, it was ignorant but like the person said above I think what he was trying to say is that Asian food is better cooked by Asians. Doesn’t mean people from another race shouldn’t be hired or that they can not cook good Asian food but I can understand what he meant by his comment.

    roxy423

    February 19, 2010 at 4:32 am

  5. I don’t think this person was saying “asian people cook asian food better”…although he sounded like a jackass, I think his comment was geared more towards the fact that MOST ethnically-based restaurants do in fact employ mostly people who orient under that particular culture or background. Bento may be an exception, but I can say that I’ve never walked into a Chinese take-out place and seen anyone working there that wasn’t of Asian descent. It’s not right, and it’s not far from covert racism to only hire a certain ethnic background, but the fact remains that it happens.

    devaio24

    February 19, 2010 at 4:06 pm


Leave a Reply

