Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

America’s Shift in Population

with 2 comments

http://www.theroot.com/views/glenn-becks-worst-nightmare-america-without-minorities

I read this article that coincides with what we were talking about today in class. This writer points out that political leaders like Minnesota Rep. Michele Bachmann have a real fear of the 2010 Census. She is scared to know the amount of minorities that actually live in the US. I agree with the writer when he says, “But as we barrel toward the point where blacks and Latinos can no longer be dismissed as ‘minority’ populations, it’s a fantasy Americans cannot continue to indulge.” I think we are at a point in our society where we can no longer hold blacks and Hispanics so tightly to the label of “minorities” because their population is increasing so rapidly.

Written by cristyb7513

February 16, 2010 at 2:11 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I feel the same way. At this point and time i dont feel that minorities can be viewed as minorities really anymore. Even in one article it say that minorities are increasing so much that we have gotten to the point where in the year 2050 whites will no longer be the majority. America will become a much more of a melting pot because there wont really be a dominant race anymore.

    bmcdaniel91

    February 18, 2010 at 8:29 pm

  2. I find it funny that there is an actual fear of whites not being the majority as if they were being exterminated. It is most likely that even though there will be a major shift, whites will still control many things. I honestly do not worry about this major shift because the way I see it we are already a huge melting pot and I am happy that I can see minorities just as much as I see whites.

    alyssa1965

    February 19, 2010 at 3:41 am


Leave a comment