Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

you are all the same!

with 4 comments

I remember last december when me and my whole family and friends decided to go on vacations to Tennessee. One night we went to this restaurant (i don’t remember the name) to have dinner. After being seating there for like 30 minutes my dad (with his broken English) went up to the waitress and asked her when we were going to be able to order. She said she would be “right back.” About 20 minutes later, this white family walked in and immediately somebody took their order. My dad told us that “if somebody doesn’t come to take our order before that family gets their food, we are leaving.” It happened just like that, but when we were actually leaving the waitress called us back and tried to stop us. Because we didnt pay attention, this old man next to her said (without knowing i would understand what he was going to say) “don’t worry sweetie they are all like that, they are all the same, latinos and blacks should all be burned alive.” Now you can only imagine what i could have possibly replied back!

Written by lisbecita

February 15, 2010 at 1:09 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s unfortunate that I can think back on a similar event with people from Tenessee, but I was once in Daytona Beach and there was a large family reunion nearby my family. After they consumed several drinks, the racial slurs seemed to slip out more and more until we heard things like “Blacks have no place in this country” and “The South will rise again”. It is very sad that these sort of things can be said or are even still thought in our society but I am sure there are these sort of events all over the south still to this day.

    mvmia16

    February 15, 2010 at 2:03 pm

  2. wow!!! What a story!!! I am African American and I have experience this too at resturants. I see that my family and I are waiting while other families (whites) are being attended to, even if we were ther first. I think that in a resturant, that only colors that matter are green, copper, and silver.

    beatitkid

    February 15, 2010 at 5:12 pm

  3. That is quite a story! That is absolutely horrible that your family was treated that way. I am White and I have never had to go through anything like that. I cannot believe that someone would have the audacity to say such a thing you you!

    amgostigian

    February 16, 2010 at 3:37 am

  4. WOW! That is sad to hear that you went through that I just don’t know how I would react to that. That is just so hurtful to say that we should burn alive. I mean do people not think we are humans? I dont understand are people who are not white not human beings? We must be from a different breed or animals. That just makes me sick that people are so horrible and disgusting.

    roxy423

    February 19, 2010 at 4:24 am


Leave a Reply

