Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Freedom of Speech?

with 5 comments

I work at a movie theatre and last week we had a disruption in a theatre. A man had gotten into an argument with another man because his young (6-7 year old) daughter was talking during the movie. The man had yelled at her and told her to shut up (with profanity). They were all pulled out of the theatre and when the man was asked to leave, he said “This is why they shouldn’t let hispanics into the theatre”. Now the man didn’t technically do anything wrong but my heart broke when I watched the little girl’s father try to explain to her what racism is and why the man didn’t like them. In my opinion, people shouldn’t be allowed to say things like this. I know that it is his freedom of speech, but it is these kinds of words that spawn hatred. That little girl will probably be traumatized by the incident and go on to think that all white people are racist and feel the way that man did.

Written by dippity09

February 14, 2010 at 3:50 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this happens a lot… and “go back to your country” is a classic! There should be a law or something to avoid stuff like this from happening!

    lisbecita

    February 15, 2010 at 1:19 am

  2. My heart also break for that little. There is no way to put it but that is just flat out racist. I really pray that when I have kids, they would never experience something of this sort. The fact of the matter is that, they will be faced with some form of racism and there is nothing I can do about it.

    emefad

    February 15, 2010 at 1:40 am

  3. Wow!!! I cannot believe someone would offend a child like that. No matter what color they are, children are going to be children. I am a girl so I can say this (LOL), But she was just being a little girl, we do have a tendency to ramble somethings. If I was there, I would probable have cried. I bet this little girl would not look at whites the same for a while. I also bet she would never forget this!!!

    beatitkid

    February 15, 2010 at 5:20 pm

  4. My heart goes out to this father and his daughter. I cant say that I am surprised by the man’s comment but this type of situation is what perpetuates racism and discrimination .

    deanna15

    February 15, 2010 at 9:55 pm

  5. Disgusting. It’s a sad reality in our nation, and as others said, incidents like these will only strengthen racial tensions. This little girl will likely grow up to distrust or even hate white people because of this and other incidents.

    chrissybear

    February 19, 2010 at 5:40 am


Leave a Reply

