Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Free to Love?

with one comment

So, as we approach Valentine’s Day, I feel that this topic is appropriate. Today I was walking in the store with my best friend. Him and I are extremely close, and I suppose that our chemistry can be clearly detected by observers. I have never been one to care what others think, so I never pay it much attention. However, today I couldn’t help but notice a couple of dirty looks I received from a couple of black females. Yes, my best friend is a large black male, who often has many females chasing after him. When other females, particularly those of African American descent see us together, they become disgusted as if I did something to offend them. I’ve heard the argument that I’m “stealing their men” by having affiliations with a black man, but honestly, this is a load of crap in my opinion and will openly defend that with anyone who feels otherwise. I guess my thoughts don’t mean much but I really wish people could accept that you can not control who you love, and even if I could, I see absolutely nothing wrong with caring about someone outside of my ‘race’. There are so many people on this earth who are judged and discriminated against for loving someone that society does not deem  ‘acceptable’. Everyone needs to worry about themselves and stop trying to force their beliefs upon others. If you don’t agree with the way someone else is living their life, then make the change in your own.

Written by elianita514

February 14, 2010 at 1:04 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is so true. When I was back home, I would here black guys saying that they would rather date a white or Hispanic girl because there would be less “drama,” to deal with, implying that all black girls are loud and obnoxious. It’s kinda like how we said that Obama wouldn’t be as popular with black voters if he was married to a white women. It goes the other way too. I went to visit my best friend who goes to FAMU (a historically black school). As I was walking on campus with my boyfriend, who happens to be white, a black guy rode by and yelled, “You coudn’t find a black dude?” I doubt he would have said that if my boyfriend was black and I were white. People need to get over it and realize that you can date whoever you want.

    chrissybear

    February 14, 2010 at 1:44 am


Leave a Reply

