Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Confused at the Gas Station

with 3 comments

When you go into a gas station, you really don’t think about anything else besides getting gas. I know sometimes, we go into gas stations and end up buying other things than gas but I didn’t know that items had a race? When I walked into the BP the other day with my boyfriend, the attendant greeted him by saying, “what ya drinkin’, what ya smokin’, what ya scratchin’?”. At first, I didn’t catch on, but after I saw the look on my boyfriends face, I knew it was something that upset him. He explained to me that the attendant was assuming he came in to buy liqour, or cigarettes, or a lotto ticket; because he was black. I don’t know how accurate my boyfriend is with his assumption, but what else could it be? I guess a simple “hello, how may I help you?” would have been too much to ask for.

Written by rphilp88

February 14, 2010 at 1:11 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HELL YEA! She was just EXTRA! Your boyfriends assumption was exact! Im infuriated as you can see by all the ! This is why you see violence on TV by Black males. Then these young males get the title of “angry Black man assualts again”. I’ve learned to completely blow ignorant individual like that a way with really witty comments. In this situation I would have told the attendant “No I came to get some coffee because Ive been studying for my MCAT’S I’m graduating from Medical school and I’m going to be a doctor because who wants to be stuck in their 40’s working at a gas station. Even if it was a lie just the idea of a Black excelling in life is shocking. Well to those type of people who still believe all Blacks are inferior.

    ineeduf

    February 14, 2010 at 1:31 am

  2. i totally agree with you! i hate when people make assumptions without really knowing. My favorite part of the story is the look on their faces when they realize their assumptions were wrong!

    lisbecita

    February 15, 2010 at 1:17 am

  3. I don’t think this is racist, sorry. I think your boyfriend wanted to see racism, so he did. Your boyfriend assumed that the cashier thought he was going to buy liquor, cigarettes, or a lotto ticket based on his race….but in reality, the cashier probably said that because MOST people buy those things when they go into a gas station. Yes, people buy coffee and snacks etc, but the majority of a gas stations money is made off of those key items—regardless of the race of the person who buys them.

    cgator19

    February 21, 2010 at 4:57 pm


Leave a Reply

