Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Federal Holidays and having Time Off

with 5 comments

I think it’s really odd how we have Martin Luther King Day off but we don’t have Presidents Day off. My husbands work schedule is different, he didn’t have MLK day off but he has Presidents day. Does MLK day rank higher up as a Federal holiday then Presidents day? If we did have school on MLK day, do you think there would be an uproar about it and that people would say it was “racist” that we are not recognizing what MLK did as a black man for this country?

Written by melp8

February 13, 2010 at 1:49 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think that is a good point. I know that where my mom works, at a community college, they have monday off. Even in high school i had presidents day off. I think it is almost racist when you think about it that we had MLKJ day off, but not presidents day.

    jeanliiping

    February 13, 2010 at 4:52 pm

  2. This thought is interesting to think about, because I wonder if there is some sort of ranking in order to determine if people work or go to school on a given holiday. I do believe that if it was strictly enforced for president’s day and not on MLK day there would be somewhat of an uproar, they should just make both of them free days and make everyone happy.

    mato89

    February 13, 2010 at 11:55 pm

  3. This is a very intriguing topic of discussion, because not many people acknowledge this fact until someone blatantly states it. We, as a society, have become so accustomed to this routine of what day is a national holiday, and what day is not- that we have not stopped to question why. I do not believe there should be a ‘ranking’ of which day deserves to be a holiday over another, and I do believe that if we took away MLK day as a holiday and replaced it with President’s day, there would be an uproar. However, if that’s the way it were from the beginning I’m not so sure it would be a big deal, because that would be what we were used to.

    lp0812

    February 14, 2010 at 12:32 am

  4. Sadly, I do feel that if we were not excused from school on MLK Day there would be lots of controversy on the terms of race. However, I know that my high school, as well as many other high schools did have president’s day off, and I’m assuming that UF is not the only university where Presiden’t Day is not synonymous with a day off of school. There is just simply no way that we can have as many days off as we did back in grade school. Honestly, if I could only pick one of the two for a day off of school, I would pick MLK Day as well.

    elianita514

    February 14, 2010 at 12:42 am

  5. I never really put much thought into it. But i think that it probably would cause some type of uproar for the black community if schools and other organizations didn’t give MLK day off. Mainly because he has done so much to help African Americans. If it wasn’t for him it would be a very different American! I think it would be a lot easier if we got both days off.

    rphilp88

    February 14, 2010 at 1:23 am


Leave a Reply

