Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Type of school depends on race

with 4 comments

After living in Gainesville for 3 yrs I always found it strange when I’m out somewhere like at the mall or even at work and people ask me if I’m a student here. When I reply yes and they then ask what school I attend, before I can answer they always tend to answer the question for me. People always assume that I’m a student at Santa Fe instead of UF and I feel that this has something to do with race. When I do tell them that I go to UF they look shocked. At first when this happened I didn’t mind so much but now I find it kind of offensive. I even asked a guy who did this to me why he assumed I was a student at Santa Fe and he couldn’t give me a response and I was thinking maybe it was because of my race.  Uf admits both African American and Caucasian students so why would race determine the school I go to. It’s not like Sante Fe is a school for African Americans and UF is a school for Caucasians.

Written by taishae

February 12, 2010 at 1:47 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This has happened to me a couple times. I’m sure its because of our race but hey we are here so it doesn’t matter what they think now. all we can do now is get our degree and show them why we were admitted

    gwendo89

    February 12, 2010 at 2:48 am

  2. This is stereotyping in full effect. It’s as if blacks are still not good enough to go to ivy league schools or a “public Ivy” such as UF along with whites. I can’t say that I have been through this because I haven’t but I have been told by an adult out here that demographically, I’m not supposed to be here and you can imagine how that felt. Ignorance still rules this world.

    alyssa1965

    February 12, 2010 at 10:14 pm

  3. I get that comment a lot too and I’m not African American. I get it because I’m young.

    melp8

    February 13, 2010 at 1:52 am

  4. This seems absurd. People often make assumptions without considering the positive. They always think about the negative, lending for the reinforcement of stereotypes that continue to plague the United States. You shouldn’t judge a book by its cover because it tends to bite you in the butt.

    dmg24

    February 13, 2010 at 2:45 am


Leave a Reply

