Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Stererotypes among Hispanics

leave a comment »

So the other weekend I was at my friends’ apartment having dinner and enjoying a poker night. It was a group of about 9 or 10 of us that are all Hispanic and at one point my friend, who I have known for years, begins this rant about Puerto Ricans and all these negative preconceived notions she has about them. We were a pretty diverse group of Hispanics that included being Cuban, Chilean, Nicaraguan, Colombian, Argentinian, and one friend who was half Cuban and half Puerto Rican. When my friend began trashing Puerto Ricans, I was never so embarrassed and ashamed to be around her. First of all, she was being completely racist against Puerto Ricans and second of all we were in the company of people who we did not know that well and I am sure they also have Puerto Rican friends. I was so shocked and disappointed with her but I did not say what I wanted to because I did not want to embarrass her in front of company. Because I am also Cuban she incorrectly assumed that I felt the same way because there has always been some tension between certain Cubans and Puerto Ricans. This just made me think how unfortunate it is that even among minorities there is still so much racism that occurs.

Written by cristyb7513

February 12, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

