Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

If you look, we don’t all look alike…

with 2 comments

I went to help a good friend of mine (who is white) with a project for her sorority and I went to their house for the first time. On the walls in all the downstairs rooms there were large photographs on all the walls of all the girls of that particular school year dating back very far. I couldn’t help but notice that there was not one single non-white face. Not one. Finally I found one Black face in this years group and as we were leaving my friend remarked that her sisters and the other people in the house didn’t notice that I wasn’t her Black sorority sister. This made me think of what my mom and I were talking about with our experience of the way that SOME White people tend not to look at the faces of Black people to recognize their facial features but only see color. Often times White people who I consider myself really good friends with walk within inches of me and they don’t notice me until I call their name. Does this happen often to anyone else? Perhaps people wouldn’t think all African-Americans looked alike if they would take the time to look in our faces instead of just our skin.

Written by mzlisarenee

February 12, 2010 at 5:58 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. some black people also have that tendency of saying that all white people look alike but I fully understand what you are saying. it’s sad but the fact that they didn’t even notice that says alot about who they are. They were not interested in that one black girl, they were ecstatic at the mere fact that that one black person made them “diverse”, which couldn’t be further from the truth.

    alyssa1965

    February 12, 2010 at 9:40 pm

  2. This definitely goes beyond white people not recognizing African American people. I think that all racial groups tend to categorize other groups by the color of their skin. Many white people can’t tell black people apart. Many hispanics can’t tell asians apart. Many blacks can’t tell hispanics apart. I do think that the black girl in that sorority should be extremely offended that her own sisters don’t pay enough attention to her to tell her apart, but that’s another story.

    dippity09

    February 14, 2010 at 4:08 am


Leave a Reply

