Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Blacks and Beamers

with 6 comments

This weekend I went to Ft. Myers to hang out with my boyfriend. My boyfriend lives in a really nice neighborhood, and he drives a very nice car (BMW). One day while riding in the car a cop was stationed in an area, and my boyfriend said “Watch he will pull us over”. Just as my boyfriend predicted he pulled us over. The cop told us to get out of the car so that he could do a “random search”. When he heard my BF’s Jamaican accent that made his entire view of him even worse (I don’t know why) Obviously the cop found nothing in the car, and he left. I was completely enraged, and my boyfriend said that’s just how life is, and that I should get used to it. I think that what my boyfriend said was complete bull shit. This cop basically assumed that my boyfriend was a drug dealer because he saw that he was black and driving a very expensive car, and that’s not right. He didn’t even think once,  that maybe my boyfriend had a very good job and was a decent man. Even though racial profiling is illegal, cops still do this and they get away with it. Not just white cops do this, but black cops also. That day there were many other nice cars around us that were speeding, but he pulled us over for basically no reason, but the color of our skin.

Written by medusmango

February 10, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! That’s crazy. It is horrible that a people would assume that your boyfriend is a drug dealer because he’s black and drives a nice car. Are blacks not allowed to have nice things as well? Its bad enough when that regular citizens have this point of view, but the fact that law enforcers and people with power feel this way is very scary!

    rphilp88

    February 11, 2010 at 4:36 pm

  2. This also happened to me on more than one occasions. My brother has a 2009 charger and I always drive it from time to time and one time a cop stopped me for no apparent reason and asked to search the car and of course I let him searched it and he found nothing. After he finished, I asked why he pulled me over to search the car, his response was ” you ran a stop sign.” and that is ridiculous!

    jobyjob

    February 12, 2010 at 12:20 am

  3. I too have been stopped by police officers while driving with my boyfriend for no apparent reason. The officer did a random search of the car, and found nothing. He even asked were me and my boyfriend employed which I found totally irrelevant. Once I told him my boyfriend worked and went to school, and that I attend the University of Florida, he had a surprised look on his face as if he were shocked that young African Americans were educated and not criminals.

    eclass08

    February 12, 2010 at 1:34 am

  4. Growing up in Fort Myers, I can tell you that the cops are especially racist there. My friend who drives a BMW gets racially profiled all the time there… Lee County, where Fort Myers is, was also said to be one of the most segregated counties in the country. Taking this class has made me realized how wrong the whole situation there is.. especially the fact that most people see nothing wrong with it the way it is currently.

    lehnertsl

    February 12, 2010 at 2:50 am

  5. I hate to tell you but it’s not about driving a nice car. My brothers car is a 2001 Ford Taurus and he gets pulled over roughly once a month (hard working college student/intern). Part of being a Black male means fitting the description, all the time. When you drive a nice car, you must be a drug dealer. When your car sucks, you must be a drug dealer. And when you’re pulled over after having done nothing wrong, they make up a bogus reason and hassle you. Trust me, it’s not a Fort Myers thing, its an American thing. Not all cops are like that, but enough of them are that they taint cops in general.

    mzlisarenee

    February 12, 2010 at 6:08 am

  6. It’s a sad thing but it is something that you will have to get used to. I never understood why black men would get pulled over at a rate higher than any other gender and race. its very rare that you see a black female or anyone else get pulled over because of their skin color.

    alyssa1965

    February 12, 2010 at 1:43 pm


Leave a Reply

