Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Avatar Racist?

with 4 comments

I was reading an article about Avatar where the author argues that Avatar was a racist movie. Before I go in the details, I personally thought this movie was the best movie I have ever seen.  But then again, even though I saw it twice, I did not think too much about the deeper meanings of the movie. I was too distracted by how amazing the special effects were. Now going back to the article, he mentioned that in most raced based movies the common theme is that they “feature a white saviour to the colored masses”. He writes that he is sick of the white man saving the day. He talks about the fact that he could not be paid to watch movies such as  the Blind Side. Even thought I love watching such inspirational movies, I agree with the trend that the author has brought up a very interesting fact. It always seems that the race, either blacks or native americans or spanish, are unable to help themselves unless the white “man” comes along and saves them from their own ways. I have not ever thought about it this way until I read this article. Do you agree/disagree with the author? and if you do disagree, can you give an example of a raced based movie in which the hero is from another race?

Written by emefad

February 10, 2010 at 2:08 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I do agree with the author that it does seem to be a very popular theme among movies to have a white man as the hero. I thought of a two movies where the hero is from another race: there is Man On Fire with Denzel Washington and also Walking Tall with Dwayne Johnson. I do not know if they are the best example but Denzel and Dwayne do play the heroes in the movies.

    cristyb7513

    February 10, 2010 at 2:38 am

  2. I also agree with author, the white man always come to save the poor minorities. This is the main theme of most inspirational movies. 2 inspirational movies that I really enjoyed, where the black man was featured as the hero were; “Remember the Titans” with Denzel Washington, and “Pride”, with Terrence Howard. I really do recommend you to watch these two movies, so that you can see how powerful an impact these men in these movies have on the people around them. They are both very inspirational movies also.

    medusmango

    February 10, 2010 at 4:05 pm

  3. I also read the article and I was going to post it but you beat me to it. I, also think that this is one of the best movie ever, but I never paid any attention to the fact that it might be racist. After reading the article, I actually thought about it and I agree with the author about the structure of the movie resemble racism.

    jobyjob

    February 12, 2010 at 12:24 am

  4. I haven’t seen avatar but I have yet to hear anyone say it has racist undertones. I agree that Hollywood’s portrayal of the white savior is a dominating theme in many movies; although I hadn’t really thought of it until I read this post. “The Book of Eli,” however, with Denzel Washington shows a black man as the hero/savior and the white guy as the villan. When I saw it, I thought nothing of the color of the actors.

    lehnertsl

    February 12, 2010 at 2:59 am


Leave a Reply

