Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Names

with 3 comments

Today, I was talking with someone and they stated that all Asian people are named “Lee” and she wondered why she even asked anymore, because the majority of the time “Lee” is the correct name.  I found this statement to be very ignorant and it really upset me that someone could say something so racist.  Why would she automatically assume that every Asian persons name is Lee?  That would be the exact same thing as someone saying that every white girl is named Ashley. We all know this isn’t true and she probably would have been very offended if someone of a different race said something like that about her.  I really think everyone should stop judging people based on their race and if their name sounds White, Black, or Asian.

Written by tjurgonski

February 7, 2010 at 1:20 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am always told that my name is a white girl’s name and then they figure out that I must be black because my last name is Williams. It’s crazy some of the things I here. Unfortunately, it is still apart of our society especially in the job market when looking for a job. Employers are more reticent to hire people who they declare has a more “ghetto sounding” name. Some people are so hurt by things like this that they often do not want to be called by their real name and instead use a nickname or change their name altogether. Our names are a matter of respect that each of us deserve, so don’t let anyone tarnish it in anyway. your name didn’t come with a list of stereotypes and characteristics that made you who you are, you make your name what it is.

    alyssa1965

    February 7, 2010 at 1:50 am

  2. Is funny how now days we have stereotypes for everything, and we can judge people based on race, language, length, and even NAMES! The sad thing is that we are transferring all this wrong attitudes to other generations. I am so against all this. : (

    lisbecita

    February 7, 2010 at 5:30 am

  3. It is really sad that people get stereotyped by their names. I too have been told that my name Erika, sounds white, and people always joke that my friend’s name Shanteria sounds ghetto. In fact, I always laugh at the way people look when she introduces herself, because I always wonder what they are thinking. I have had classmates that have had to tell our teachers a nickname because teachers can’t pronounce their real name and it is embarassing. This made me think about the name ordeal with President Obama, some people change their name so that they can fit into “American” society.

    eclass08

    February 7, 2010 at 6:19 pm


Leave a Reply

