Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

“Cuter babies”

with 5 comments

In my point of view, I think it is sad when people say they want a light skin baby. One day a few friends and I was talking and this subject came up. One of my African American friends said that she wants a light baby because lighter babies are cuter. She was implying that all white babies are better looking than darker ones because they are lighter and darker babies are ugly. From my perspective, all babies are cute and can not be judged. I told her she is so ignorant because a child’s skin color should not matter and the only thing that should really be important is their health.

Written by misscandib21

February 7, 2010 at 4:24 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A healthy baby is a fat baby is how the saying goes. I rather be one of those mothers that pray that my child comes out healthy rather than light skin. I mean if he or she comes out red that’s fine but if they come out darker that’s fine too. I have seen so many things that can go wrong with a baby. I was watching one show and this little girl was born without a face. My cousin’s baby was born with sickle cell. There is so many things that can go wrong with a baby. So why pray your baby comes out light skin or cute but pray to God they come out healthy. All babies are already cute. So pray for a healthy baby.

    misssandib

    February 7, 2010 at 4:30 am

    • I think praying for a light skinned baby is foolish. there was something i saw, it was the rarest identical twins ever, one black and one white. How will life be different for those two? technically it shouldn’t be, they should both be treated equally and have the same opportunities. but definitely a healthy baby is the best baby.

      dgomez823

      February 7, 2010 at 5:08 am

  2. I totally agree with you all. Nevertheless, we still need to have an open mind and see more than the obvious. We are all different and we all have different thoughts and preferences. There is always the chance that we misunderstood something or that somebody didnt really mean what we understood. From my point of view I LOVE all babies. The only thing that would seem weird to me is a mother not liking her own newborn child because of the color of his skin or any other physical characteristic (or other reason), but we all have different tastes.

    lisbecita

    February 7, 2010 at 5:25 am

  3. I feel like wanting a light or dark skinned baby is no different than wanting your child to have a light or dark hair color. I don’t feel as though personal preferences on what you think is more or less attractive for your children or anyone else for that matter is an issue of racism. I doubt any mother is going to feel any animosity towards their child for not turning out exactly as they hoped. If beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder, then this should not at all be an issue for a parent to want their child to be as attractive as they see fit.

    mvmia16

    February 7, 2010 at 6:17 am

  4. I think its sad that African Americans discriminate against their own people. For so long we have been forced to think that our skin color is ugly or dirty which is why we were meant to be slaves. Now that we are past slavery days its time for African American to love ourselves and our unique skin color.

    taishae

    February 12, 2010 at 2:09 am


Leave a Reply

