Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

George Lopez

with 5 comments

I was watching George Lopez the other day and in the episode, the airplane company was going to get a government deal of some sort, so Jack Powers (the head of the airplane company George is the manager of) told George that there was this one employee named Hasni who was middle eastern looking and had taken flight classes (only because his dad was a pilot and passed it on to him) that George had to demote him to filing paper work so they could get the government deal. George had invited Hasni to dinner before knowing he had to demote him. At dinner he finds out that Hasni is a nice guy and there’s no way he could demote him, but Jack powers insists and Hasni gets demoted. I am pretty sure things like this don’t happen solely on tv shows. Do you think its right to racially profile a person and demote him based on assumptions? (flight school and middle eastern = terrorist)

Written by dgomez823

February 6, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I dont think its right to racially profile a person. Americans started to racially profile middle eastern people after 9/11 and i think its unfair. All middle eastern people are not terrorists and everyone shouldnt have to pay for the horrific tragedy that was causedd by a certain group of people.

    taishae

    February 6, 2010 at 7:15 pm

  2. i dont think its right at all because unless you know someone how can you make judgements about them. You can never read a book by its cover because you would never know the contents of whats inside the book. I feel that racial profiling comes from our own fears and from things that we have heard in the past. It is wrong to do but something that is commonly practiced.

    bmcdaniel91

    February 6, 2010 at 10:14 pm

  3. I feel so bad for many middle eastern people because after 9/11 there lives were turned upside down. I remeber when I was in middle school and one of my teachers said when she got on a plane after 9/11 she was looking around in search of anyone that looked middle-eastern on the plane. She felt so bad for saying that because she is Hispanic and she know what discrimination is like.

    alyssa1965

    February 6, 2010 at 11:33 pm

  4. I could really relate to this topic because my dad is from Pakistan and I know after 9/11 everyone looked at me differently. I’m also hispanic but once people notice my last name they always wonder and till this day it’s interesting to see peoples reaction when I tell them where my dad is from. Some people make jokes like “be careful not to mess with me because my dad may blow up the place”, stupid remarks that are honestly not funny. I think it is horrible that anyone that looks like there from the middle east gets treated that way. The people that did what they did on 9/11 was horrible but that does not mean that everyone from there is like that. I feel like its the total opposite. I ‘ve been around my dads friends and family and the way they are brought up through their religion and culture is to have a bigh respect for anyone and violence is unacceptable. It really hurts me that my dad who I know is a loving caring person is looked at as a violent crazy man.

    roxy423

    February 7, 2010 at 1:30 am

  5. I most definitely believe that this racial profiling happens in these types of situations, I have some friends who are of middle eastern descent and they already expect to get searched a little more thoroughly then the average customer. The events of 9/11 have made everyone more aware of what people are capable of doing, unfortunately it stained an entire ethnicity to the point that this discrimination is now commonplace.

    mato89

    February 7, 2010 at 1:30 am


Leave a Reply

