Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

I was raised white

with 3 comments

The other day, I was eating lunch at my sorority house. Me and some of my sisters were sitting around talking about how some people do not like cheese. I found this to be quite shocking because I personally love cheese! As the conversation went on I said I can’t imagine not eating cheese because I’m Italian and I was raised on ricotta cheese. We ate it about four times a week. One of my sisters turned to me and said I didn’t I was raised white. I was in complete shock because I felt she was being rude and saying I wasn’t white because I am Italian. It was the first time in my life that someone had not included me in “the norm” of white culture or whatever that means.

Written by amgostigian

February 5, 2010 at 8:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ignorance is an amazing thing sometimes. Since when does what you eat define your race? This also shows the emphasis that our society has put on being white. Our stereotypes run so deep that we even judge what people eat. I personally love cheese, and in terms of heritage, I’m as white as they come. What you eat doesn’t change how you were born, but even if it did, it shouldn’t matter. The sad thing is, it matters a lot to many people.

    lehnertsl

    February 6, 2010 at 3:40 am

  2. I agree with the previous comment about the ignorance of judging someone’s race based on the food they eat! However, with all the discussions we’ve had in class about “whiteness”, do you consider yourself to be ‘white’? You mentioned that was the first time that you weren’t considered part of ‘the norm’ in white culture, and I understand what you mean because society has often categorized people from many different backgrounds as such. But do yo yourself consider yourself ‘white’?

    elianita514

    February 6, 2010 at 5:36 am

  3. As an Italian American myself that is the first time I’ve ever heard of anyone suggest that Italians were not white, other then reading about the discrimination of Italians in the early 20th century. Now for me personally Im very peculiar about cheese, in that I don’t like most cheeses but I do like cheese with tomatoes, but I don’t like raw tomatoes. Now when describing my cheese preferences I do acknowledge that Im a bad Italian, but more as a joke. Now as far as calling Italians a race that I don’t agree, we are an ethnicicty,just like almost any other Caucasian. I am also English, Irish, and Scotish all of them I also to consider to be ethnicities of Caucasian which yes I do identify with.

    matthewcel

    February 6, 2010 at 9:34 pm


Leave a Reply

