Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Just a Number at UF?

with 2 comments

When I found out I got accepted to UF I was happy and excited. The teachers at my high school were happy also. However, there were a few teachers that were trying to get me to attend an HBC. They said an education is an education but going to a HBC is good for me because I can get a better understanding of the black culture. The thing that got me thinking was when they said, at UF I would just be a limited black girl there with a number and that’s what the teachers would look at me as, just a number.

Now, two years later and I’m a little older I realize everyone here at UF is just a number when starting out. It doesn’t matter what race you are. What I do understand is you have to make yourself known and heard to the teachers. Its my job to get them to know me and not be that number they look at everyone as in the classroom as.

Written by misssandib

January 31, 2010 at 4:22 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am so proud of you! that is the actitude we need to adopt. if one wants something done, one should do it (and work hard) by oneself. Dont let people bring you down and turn you against the world not everybody sees the world separated in two colors (black &white). At least I don’t! (and that is a start). 🙂

    lisbecita

    January 31, 2010 at 6:20 pm

  2. I understand exactly what you mean. i actually had a teacher, substitute as a matter of fact, that told me straight to my face that the only reason I got into UF was because I’m black. It was like being here and not at an HBCU made us this unusual group. but you keep moving forward and don’t let know one tell you what might be best for you. you know what’s best for you.

    alyssa1965

    February 1, 2010 at 4:24 am


Leave a Reply

