Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

How can someone “act” or “dress” black?

with 3 comments

There have been so many times when I would hear someone say “ why u acting black” or “why you dress black”. How could this be possible. Being black is no such thing.  Like I heard this white guy ask another white guy  why he talks black? Just because a white boy uses slang do not mean he is acting like a black person. Only black people did not create slang.  what makes me so upset is that why does this white guy have to be acting black? Is it because he  maybe loud or using improper speech? Some people make it seem as if is it’s not normal to see white people dressing or talking “black”. Just because most black people use these words or dress a certain way does not mean they own that specific language or style.

Written by misscandib21

January 31, 2010 at 4:19 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I totally agree with you when you say that “Just because most black people use these words or dress a certain way does not mean they own that specific language or style,” but sometimes we cant be so delicated about what other people think or say about us. It is true that we are all different in a way or the other, but the ijportant thing is to be proud of who you are. 🙂

    lisbecita

    January 31, 2010 at 6:15 pm

  2. Where I’m from, I here this said about me very often. Being black and intelligent is taken as a threat for many of all races for some reason. It is all about the assumptions we make on every race that allows us to make such ridiculous comments. we act like certain races own certain characteristics and that no one outside that race could display them. unfortunately, these assumptions about how each race acts will still be around for years to come.

    alyssa1965

    February 2, 2010 at 9:33 pm

  3. I can completely relate to that because I actually get that a lot from my friends. I will be talking to them and then they will tell me to stop talking black and repeat myself. I find it really offensive and irritating because I do not know what I said to make them think that because there is no such thing as speaking a ‘black’ language. What is also irritating is that they are being hypocritical because I know they would never dare say that to someone who is black but of course they do not care saying that among their Hispanic friends who may all find they way I sometimes speak amusing.

    cristyb7513

    February 2, 2010 at 11:33 pm


Leave a Reply

