Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Racism on a daily basis

with 5 comments

Now that I’m taking classes such as minorites in American society and Law and society classes the more I realize how many people say racist remarks everyday. The more that we talk about these issues in class the more I hear or react towards these racist remarks and it truly upsets me. I was on the bus going to school and I heard half of the conversation a white female was having with her friend and I remember her talking about some swim suit competition and how the Puerto Rican model won or might win but anyways she said, “Well I’m sure the Puerto Rican model looks good in the swim suit but I want an American to win I mean it is an American competition”. I turned around and just couldn’t believe her I mean is she that ignorant to not know that Puerto Ricans whether born here or on the island are Americans. I mean what she really should have said which I’m sure is what she meant is that she wanted someone white to win. There have been many more I’ve over heard during this past week and it amazes me how racism and stereotypes occur on the daily basis. It just really disappoints me that people say these things. I don’t think we will ever overcome racism. People have these ideas of certain races, religions, and ethnicities that will never change. I’m not trying to be pessimistic just realistic.

Written by roxy423

January 30, 2010 at 3:48 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’ll really be surprised what you hear on the bus if you just stop and listen. My friend told me that one day when she was getting on the bus she sat next to this white guy. After sitting down, the guy kept staring at my friend, which made her turn down the volume on her iPod. She then heard the guy ask his friend to trade seats with him because he didn’t want to sit by a “black girl”. My friend was angry, but didn’t say anything. I was really upset, that someone would be so ignorant that they don’t want to sit by someone who is black.

    eclass08

    January 30, 2010 at 6:44 am

    • Wow that is really unbelievable… I really would have said something but I’m sure she was in shock and upset.

      roxy423

      January 30, 2010 at 3:55 pm

  2. That is horrible that you had to overhear that. Unfortunately, we live in a world where people do not care about the people they hurt when they say things like that. I’ve never been in a situation like that so it’s hard for me to relate, but I agree with you that it was a racist comment.

    amgostigian

    January 30, 2010 at 6:23 pm

  3. I agree with everyone that its one of those unavoidable evils in our society today, that most people do not have the ability to see how racially loaded their statements can be and how offensive they can be. I think the majority can be blamed on ignorance but after having some classes at UF I think some of it is just pure choice. It’s sad that most people don’t understand that one race is not superior to any other.

    mato89

    January 31, 2010 at 2:20 am

  4. Sad to say it but America will never overcome racism. This word seems as if it is in air and will always spread generation to generation. Agreeing with Roxy, that comment was ignorant and a racist to say. Why would it matter who win the swimming competition either way its not like either white girl (was on the bus talking) was going to win. I always hear remarks like this everywhere I go and a lot of other people say things like that too.

    misscandib21

    January 31, 2010 at 3:46 am


Leave a Reply

