Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

“Oh, but I’m not racist…”

with 2 comments

I’m sure all of us has encountered this at one point or another. I find it amusing when someone says something completely ignorant, stereotypical, and RACIST, then follow up with the comment, “Oh, but I’m not racist…I have black friends”. The word ‘amusing’ is light compared to what I would really like to call this statement….but ignorant to say the least. I find this to be an oxymoron. But furthermore, it’s even worse when people point out the number of friends they have of another race. For example, my best friend was trying to defend her fiance by saying that he has two black friends. This enraged me even more than the stereotypical comment he had said previously. I am not saying I am perfect in any way, because I also feel that everyone is a little racist in some sense. However, if someone were to claim that I were racist, my ‘black’, ‘white’ or ‘Asian’ friends wouldn’t start flashing through my mind. The saddest part of it all is that that many people genuinely feel that having ‘black’ friends will cancel out any chance of them being labeled as racist. This of course can happen with any culture, but my personal experiences have been with either Hispanics or African Americans as the target group. If you see anyone making this sort of mistake, please say something! These people need to open their eyes and stop being so blind to their own ignorance!

Written by elianita514

January 30, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t really know what the context o the conversation was but I’ve used the statement before when confronted about not ever dating anyone other then white guys. I dont consider myself racist I’m just not attracted to them but many times I’ve been looked at as if I am.

    melp8

    January 30, 2010 at 9:18 pm

  2. I agree 100% I have plenty of white friends and I don’t go arounf counting. If you all are friend you are goin to be friends reguardless of your race. If you all are not the same race I feel like there will be a racial understanding between the two.

    gwendo89

    February 1, 2010 at 3:51 am


Leave a Reply

