Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

What we expect and what we accept

with 4 comments

When professor Niles was talking about things that are expected of blacks and are accepted among whites, it made me think of this article by Tim Wise that cited white privilege as the problem. One thing that stuck out in his article the most was the fact that Sarah Palin attended about six different schools, some universities and some community colleges. If a black person did the same thing they would be deemed unsuitable for higher education. It also made me think about how black people with tattoos are considered thugs, ghetto, etc., but if a white person exhibits the same its acceptable. I hate the fact that without even getting to know a black person, everything is assumed for us; where we probably grew up, what kind of school we got and education we recieved, etc. When we did the racial stereotypes, African-Americans had the longest list of racial stereotypes, which signals to me that there is still a problem.

Written by alyssa1965

January 27, 2010 at 11:55 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is really insightful. I think as black people, we learn early on that if we want to be successful in a predominantly white society, we must perform at a higher level than anyone else. My grandmother used to tell me when I was little that I couldn’t just be good if I wanted to succeed, I had to be better than anyone else. This is a reality in this nation. The example you used of Sarah Palin reflects this. She hopped around from school to school and never performed particularly well, yet some feel that she would be qualified to run the free world. However, President Obama, who was once the President of “The Harvard Law Review,” is seen as “unqualified” by some whites. Crazy.

    chrissybear

    January 27, 2010 at 10:06 pm

  2. I understand where you’re coming from when you say that black people are judged by their outside appearances before one gets to know them; however, I feel that there are more people that are judged this way other than blacks. I have blond hair, blue eyes, and I really enjoy dressing up for the day. Everyone I’ve ever known always says that before they met me, they thought I was rich and stuck-up or a dumb blond. I have 5 siblings and work two jobs to pay for my schooling because my parents can’t afford it, and graduated top of my IB class. When people see a girl dressed punky with tattoos they automatically assume she’s some sort of delinquent trailer trash; when people see a college guy with nice hair, a tight shirt and designer jeans, they assume he must be gay; Assumptions are made about everyone, it’s human nature to pre-judge whether you mean to or not and I think each person just notices it more when it’s THEM being judged.

    cgator19

    January 28, 2010 at 4:38 am

  3. P.S. I don’t think ANYONE thinks Sarah Palin is qualified to run…anything.

    cgator19

    January 28, 2010 at 4:40 am

  4. I feel that it has become a natural process for some people to judge other people as soon as they see them instead of giving them the chance to tell you who they really are. I also feel that almost every race outside of white is required to work harder just to keep pace or be better than whites. It all plays into white supremacy, which puts all races other than white at an uneven disadvantage.

    bmcdaniel91

    January 28, 2010 at 4:25 pm


Leave a Reply

