Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Blessing and a Curse:Darker skin

with 3 comments

So, I remember when I was a tad bit younger, lets just say high school, I was always told that I was pretty for being a dark skinned girl. I wondered why did “for being dark skinned” always have to follow? Why couldn’t I have just been pretty? This has been said to other people I know as well. It sometimes make me angry because soon as my color is described to someone, people assume that beauty, is therefore not an option. It all stems from the lighter the skin, the better you were to be treated, basically the better your life could be. I wish that one day,  along with other ignorant general beliefs, things will change and dumb assumptions won’t be made such as this one.

Written by alyssa1965

January 26, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hate it people say that you are pretty for a dark-skin girl. I once heard a guy say that about one of my friends, and I wondered why he couldn’t just say that she was a pretty girl. People don’t realize how beautiful it is to have dark skin. In videos all you see are light-skinned girls, and yes, during discrimination lighter skinned blacks got treated better and that still happens today. I personally believe that dark skin is so intriguing and their are plenty of other people who think that too.

    medusmango

    January 27, 2010 at 5:29 am

  2. There have been many clips on this subject of dark vs. light skinned black women, and what is seen as pretty. These clips usually entail that lighter skin women are used as the sex object of the video(the girl the artist is chasing in the music video), while darker skinned women tend to be the girls shaking their booty in the background. I agree with what your saying about people needing to look past you being a darker skin girl, and just see you as a pretty girl.

    jeanliiping

    January 27, 2010 at 3:25 pm

  3. I personally think its really stupid to break it up into categories. Dark skinned Light skinned …what’s the difference. It shouldn’t matter what shade you are. I think society is to blame for this though. They glorify the image of lighter skinned people in films , tv shows and even down to commercials. I’ve even seen the ad for a party called red-boned vs. dark-skinned. Doesn’t that sound ridiculous? there is no other way to describe it but stupid.

    rphilp88

    January 27, 2010 at 9:15 pm


Leave a Reply

