Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Do Older Blacks Have A Right To Be Racists?

with 4 comments

A couple of days ago I had the opportunity to visit a neighbor of mine. She is an older black lady, who lived alone. I sat down in her house and started watching TV, and there was a short commercial with Michelle Obama speaking. Suddenly she stared saying I never thought in a million years that there would be blacks in the whit house. Then she went on about how whites want for all blacks to stay below them, and that moment I realized that she was a racists. She began to talk about how hard it was to be black when she was a teen in Mississippi. She talked about the lynchings, and I felt quite sad for her. I believe that it would be hard for any human being to forgive a group of people who have done so much too keep them down. Nevertheless, the bible says to forgive and forget, and I’m positive Mrs. Jones went to church every Wednesday and Sunday. Many people pick at older black people for being racists, but can we really blame them for their hatred. As an 18 year old, I can only imagine what is was like to live under such conditions. My dad, who is a 62 tells me many things, but he has let go of all of the pain. I  don’t know, usually I have no tolerance for racists, but for some reason I felt sorry for her, I understood her.

Written by medusmango

January 24, 2010 at 2:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, In this case This old lady doesn’t really seem that racist. She just seems hurt to me. I can see if she call all whites the “C” word. I do think however, that there are older african americans who hate whites becuase if things that have happened to them or people they new in the past. I say that there is no excuse for hatred in no way, shape, or form. I say things are much different from the way things use to be. Whites and blacks, not all but most, get alone now. I think too think that we should learn how to forgive and forget.

    beatitkid

    January 25, 2010 at 4:56 pm

  2. I agree. I don’t see her as being racist, but just reationary to the life experiences she has had. Like you said, she experienced things that have affected her whole life. For her to have “racist” feelings is understandable.

    chrissybear

    January 27, 2010 at 10:30 pm

  3. I think her feelings toward her past are justified. What would not be justified, especially for someone of a religious background and view on life, would be general feelings of hatred toward the white race. The world consists of new generations, new people, new individuals with new feelings and new respect. It’s not fair to punish subsequent generations with feelings of hatred for something we personally never took part in. It doesn’t seem as though this was the case, it really seemed more like she was hurt reminiscing about her past and simultaneously proud that there is a black president and first lady.

    cgator19

    January 28, 2010 at 4:47 am

  4. I understand that the bible says forgive and forget however some things you just cannot forget. You can maybe forgive but not forget. You cannot just forget all the beatings, or the horrible things that you have seen happen in your life. Letting go could be for the best but I know it can be a hard thing to do.

    misscandib21

    February 20, 2010 at 3:36 am


Leave a Reply

