Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Being Different

with 2 comments

I was hanging out with my friends yesterday and I do not know how we got on the subject, but I remember one of them saying that I am not really “black”. This somewhat is an insult to me, because I am black. My friends have a very skewed view of what a black person is. I know that they are not racist but unfortunatly they have grouped all black people in one group. What makes me different is the fact that I am from Africa. I have an accent, I like a different style of music and much more that do not fit the typical prejudice people have for blacks. This is because my culture is completly different than that of African Americans. It is true that I can not identify with the culture here in America, but that is not my fault. I am definitly not trying to be better than anyone else I am just trying to be me. They make jokes that I am “white”. What I am trying to understand is the fact that because I don’t fit the skew view they have about African Americans, it automatically makes me white. I am not African American and would not be unless I get my citizenship but one thing for sure is that I am black. I love my culture and I love how it makes me different, and I think it is offensive to tell someone they are not really something because they do not fit your prejudice.

Written by emefad

January 24, 2010 at 2:08 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m from a small town where you are thrown into one of the two categories; black or white. I believe that it is very unusual that your friends don’t consider you black. Usually in America, if your skin is dark and your hair is curly nappy or whatever you are considered black. I also have come to the realizations that people believe that Hispanics and many people from Europe are pale. Hispanics and Europeans have many different skin tones. Most of my friends are Puerto Rican, but they are still considered black because of their complexion. I guess to sum up this paragraph, people in America usually categorize you int black or white. Is this fair, no, but that’s how it is.

    medusmango

    January 24, 2010 at 2:02 pm

  2. This idea of a black person not being “black” enough seems really silly. It reminds me of the comments made about Obama. During the campaign, people would say, “Obama is not black. He is an oreo, but more white than black.” Surprisingly, the people making these comments were black. How do you figure? It seems that people within a specific race (even minorities) are also very judgmental of who is considered the same as them. There is not one type of black person ideal that every black person has to live up to. That is ridiculous!

    dmg24

    January 30, 2010 at 2:02 am


Leave a Reply

