Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

RACISM OR DISRESPECT?

with 8 comments

Last weekend was really weird for me, because I had no idea it was MLK weekend. I was sitting at home, and my mom told me that this would be a long weekend, and I asked her why and she told me. I completely forgot all about it. Usually, most of my teachers would acknowledge the holiday, and let the class know what will be going on, but not a word was uttered about MLK’s holiday. I don’t know what to think. I don’t know if this is racism, or just a complete coincidence. As long as I have been going to school, I have always known that MLK Jr’s day falls on the 17th, but I have always been reminded by instructors at school to take note of the holiday and recognize the day; this year, I didn’t hear it once. To add more fuel to the fire, when my boyfriend was watching ESPN on Monday the 17th, one of the commentators “accidentally” said Martin Luther Coon Day instead of Martin Luther King day. I don’t believe that there are that many racist people in this world, but I do believe that over the years, many have lost respect for the man and his accomplishments that helped change this world.

Written by rphilp88

January 23, 2010 at 7:42 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think there are many ‘racist’ people in the world in the sense that most people are not wearing hoods and burning crosses but most people still have prejudice ideologies. One of my professors told the class we were lucky and spoiled as Americans (she’s Italian) to be out of school for ‘no reason.’ To answer your question, I would simply ask is there a difference between racism and disrespect when it’s disrespectful to an entire race of people?

    mzlisarenee

    January 23, 2010 at 8:27 pm

  2. I totally agree with you about being repeatedly reminded about MLKJ day. In high school teachers constantly reminded me of his accomplishments and what he had done for America. I saw a few TV ads on BET and other little stations here and there but I don’t think it was advertised well. Martin Luther King has done a lot for people and as the world continues to go on people act as if they forgot about him.

    misssandib

    January 23, 2010 at 9:47 pm

  3. I personally believe that although making it a holiday is commemorative and honoring, I also think it contributes to forgetting about it. A lot of times people forget why they are off from school, they don’t stop to thank MLK for all his efforts, all they see is a long weekend.

    dgomez823

    January 23, 2010 at 10:33 pm

  4. I, too, agree with the gradually lack of recognition and reminder of the holiday in schools today. I remember, even as far back as elementary school, I remember doing little projects on Martin Luther King, Jr. in rememberence of his achievements and acknowledgement of his day. I, also, did not hear once about MLKJ day this year either, it is sad. Although, I do not know if it is an act of racism, I do; however, believe it iss people’s choice of ignorance over knowledge, in not appreciating a man that strived for a better way for so many people.

    lp0812

    January 23, 2010 at 10:37 pm

  5. It’s funny but I had the same experience, to the point that I lost track of days that weekend and assumed MLK day was Sunday until I called a friend who was celebrating. We got to listen to part of his speech which gave me a new appreciation for Dr. King. Looking back I feel somewhat ashamed that I was able to forget such an important holiday and just enjoyed the weekend.

    mato89

    January 23, 2010 at 11:12 pm

  6. I also heard about the ESPN commentator’s comment. While i dont know if he meant to or accidently slipped and said it i believe that he should accept whatever backlash that came his way to happen. When you make a comment like that towards a person who did so much for people of all races in this nation, you offend alot of people. I also do feel that alot of people forget about the holiday but we really shouldn’t because MLK had such a great impact on society that will last forever.

    bmcdaniel91

    January 23, 2010 at 11:44 pm

  7. There are many racists people in this world, well, “closet racists”, I would like to say. Racism doesn’t have to mean hatred. Racism can be when a person believes that there race is superior to another race of people. While many of us honor MLK, many people just see him as another black civil rights leader. On the other hand many people are just not aware of how big of an impact he has had on our lives, because they’ve never lived in racists times like MLK. People don’t realize how shitty life would be without Dr. Martin Luther King’s efforts.

    medusmango

    January 24, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  8. I don’t feel as if it was respect, I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt and believe that they felt that you were grown enough to remember and recognize this great mans birthday. At the same time you still have ignorant racist people out that who can’t stand for blacks to have anything, Not even a day to recogonize a man who may have brought major change in their lives.

    gwendo89

    January 25, 2010 at 6:18 am


Leave a Reply

