Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Multicultural.

leave a comment »

After crossing as a Multicultural sorority in Fall 2008, I’ve received a multitude of questions. Being that I’m white, and pledged for a mainly Latin based sorority people always ask why. They ask why I didn’t rush for a PC sorority, assuming that it would be a better match for me, solely because I am white. At times, I feel as if people automatically group me into a certain category because of my race, and I don’t enjoy it. For that very reason, I joined a multicultural sorority. I may be one of the few “white” sisters, however, I fully enjoy it because of the diversity because there is no need to ask why I did, and why not another. Simply put, I enjoy being surrounded by a variety of cultures, with no pre-determined judgements based on my race.

Written by lp0812

January 23, 2010 at 10:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

