Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Haiti

with one comment

The earthquake in Haiti has hit me hard. My father was born and raised in Haiti but my mother is African American. I didn’t know him because he died when I was younger. On my license and all paper work it says African American. I wasn’t exposed the Haitian culture and I do not speak Creole or anything. A lot of Haitians stereotype me to be just an African American and be really surprised when I actually tell them my father was full blooded Haitian. I have family members I didn’t even know in Haiti and now I probably will never know them.

When I found out all the people that’s missing, dead and the people that is still trapped I really wanted to help. The whole situation is appalling. The only thing I could do is donate what I could. Haiti is the or one of the poorest countries in the world; everyone knows this. However, it did not need this incident to happen.

I live in the USA and I am extremely happy how America  was the first helping country, making this their number one priority. Turning on the news that’s all I see, people talking about Haiti’s quake. However, its a shame something like this had to happen just for people to actually help out Haiti. Even though there were organizations out such as Yele already helping. Go America for helping!

Written by misssandib

January 23, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This terrible new about what is happening in Haiti is causing harm to my heart as well. This news is sad because this powerful earthquake demolished a place where the worst was already happening.

    My friend is a cashier at Publix told me that went customers come through her line she ask them do they want to donate to the Haiti fund. She told me most people told her no. It was sad to know that one older white man said that No because he needs money donated to him. I think that is so ignorant to say because he have money to buy food, a car to drive and a home to live in. These people over in Haiti have nothing.

    The whole situation is a shame and sad. Hundreds of thousands of people are dead and have nothing and desperately needs help. Race related issues needs to be on hold and everyone need to help. All races should get together and unite together with a helping hand. A dollar from everyone could help in major ways.

    misscandib21

    January 23, 2010 at 9:55 pm


Leave a Reply

