Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Appearances can be misleading…

with 2 comments

Last year, my boyfriend and I went to visit North Carolina. My boyfriend and I, although both Hispanic, look completely different. While he is very light skinned, light hair and blue eyes, I have dark hair, dark eyes and darker skin. When we went out to places, the people, like waitresses and waiters, would treat him so much better just because he looked the part, “white.” On the other hand, they would give me dirty looks. It made me realize that some parts of the country truly need a wake up call! We are in 2010! I have a higher level of formal education than my boyfriend and probably those giving me the evil eye and yet I am not worthy of  decent treatment? Appearances and skin color do not define a person!

Written by dmg24

January 23, 2010 at 2:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree, its unfortunate that racism still exists despite all the hard work and fighting that went into the somewhat state of equality we have today. I am also hispanic but i do have dark skin and I think its so funny that the waitresses and waiters treated you differently than they did your boyfriend. If you dont mind me askin…what were the races of the waitresses and waiters? I was just wondering because I have a lot of friends that are afican american and when they find out that Im acctually hispanic they get kind of defensive about me choosing African American for myself on a form or about me saying that I’m African American…

    taishae

    January 23, 2010 at 6:15 pm

  2. I understand how you feel completely! My experience is somewhat different, but basically falls under the same concept that there are still so many people in this world today that can only look skin deep!

    And @ Taishae, I was wondering, if you are Hispanic, why do you choose to label yourself as African American on forms and such?

    elianita514

    January 24, 2010 at 12:29 am


Leave a Reply

