Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Worship by Race

with 5 comments

I was at work this morning and some of the girls are very active in a church group on campus, and were discussing some of the events of the past week. I’m not very religious but I joined in and asked them about their study groups and worship services. My friend Stephanie, who is black, pulls out a flyer handed to her by a group on Turlington and asks us what we think of it. The flyer was an invite to a black worship group that offers bible study, church services and choral participation for black UF students. As stated before, I’m not very religious but if I recall correctly, God’s kingdom is of all people, all shapes and sizes and colors. I told Stephanie this and she said “I agree, I feel like they’re trying to separate me from you or other races practicing the same religion. Maybe it’s a comradeship thing though.” Is it? Is that ok? Why is it that even when practicing the same religion that emphasizes forgiveness, acceptance of all people and understanding with an open heart, that we STILL feel the need to segregate ourselves?

Written by cgator19

January 22, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I remember when I was going to church back home and was probably in middle school. My church was predominately white people. I was surprised one Sunday to see a black man at my church. It was just out of the ordinary to me.

    I don’t think that they were trying to single her out necessarily. From my point of view, I think that it’s more of the Black people feeling the need to segregate themselves then it is for white people to force them to be segregated.

    melp8

    January 23, 2010 at 12:37 am

  2. I don’t feel that it’s right, but I see it happen all the time where black people go to a “black church” and white people go to a “white church” I agree with the comment above me, black people do feel the need to segregate themselves. I think it has to do with the way that white people and black people worship. I had a friend that said she visited a predominately white church, and while she enjoyed the service, the atmosphere was different than at her black church. She said that the people at the white church didn’t play the tambourines, drums, and the songs they sung sounded like opera. At most black churches, mine included, worship consists of playing uptempo songs on the piano and drums, using tambourines, and singing songs with “soul”(my friend said that the white church’s music had no soul). I feel that it is more so of a cultural thing that causes black people to want to segregate themselves. Also, most black churches are old and was based on segregation, the church is in a black community, or the church was started by a person who experienced segregation and is just continuing the cycle.

    eclass08

    January 23, 2010 at 4:22 am

  3. But don’t you think that’s a little ridiculous?? If “black” churches were founded and based on the time of segregation, don’t you think some changes would’ve taken place between now and then considering the stigma that that time period contains? I think there’s no need to segregate, there’s no need to embrace “black culture” when it comes to God. Quite frankly, keeping “white people” out is only as bad as the ‘separate but equal’ institutions we had before. I think the cycle needs to end @ some point, and considering the fight that the black community had to go through to GET this to end….we shouldn’t be condoning such heavy separation anymore.

    cgator19

    January 23, 2010 at 7:34 am

  4. If people demand equality, they should stop creating groups that set them apart from the majority. Yes, it is good to be in a group where people share similar life styles and culture to your own but to segregate yourself is essentially giving another group the chance to do the same. There will always be predominantly white, black, and hispanic churches, but to advertise a group as such is ridiculous because A) you’re not being true to your religion and B) it’s completely unnecessary. If someone feels more comfortable around people of their own race then they will find a church that provides that sense of security. There is no need to alienate other people from joining your church with an “us-them” mentality.

    lehnertsl

    January 23, 2010 at 3:54 pm

  5. I never said that it was right,I was just stating some of the justifications that people use when it comes to going to a black or white church. I’m Christian and I feel that race and color shouldn’t dictate where you worship, but this issue is a long way from being solved if people can’t become more opened minded.

    eclass08

    January 23, 2010 at 10:14 pm


Leave a Reply

