Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Name Calling

with 3 comments

My post has nothing to do with any current events, but a personal experience.  In the 7th grade, while watching the guys middle-school basketball team play, a heated conversation between myself and a couple other students occurred.  The conversation wasn’t anything major, but one of the guys who was involved in the conversation got upset and called me a “chink” then proceeded to walked away.  I sat there confused.  In the 7th grade i must admit i was rather sheltered and the word “chink” meant nothing to me.  The word to me had no definition.  Later on my peers filled me in on what that word meant, and being an emotional girl in my preteens, i began to cry.  I talked with my parents later on that night about the word and its context, and it amazes me to this day how painful one word can be.  Even though this situation happened so many years ago i still wonder why and how anyone could use that word or any word like it (ex. Coon, Jap, Jew).?  Another question that comes to mind is how did these words come to mean what they do?  All in all I just feel that these words are empty words that shouldn’t be in anyones vocabulary.

Written by jeanliiping

January 22, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ignorant people give these meaningless words these negative connotations. It’s very sad that such words are in existence. The only thing we can do is make sure the next generation aren’t destined to repeat what ignorance has cast on us now.

    alyssa1965

    January 23, 2010 at 10:47 am

  2. I feel that these words only have power because we give it to them. If someone calls me a spic, I will get angry because I know its meant to be offensive, but it doesn’t actually hurt me. You were obviously young at this point and we’re all vulnerable at that age. That’s why I feel that all this things that be avoided by emphasizing the good ol’ principle of “sticks and stones” to the next generation

    dippity09

    January 23, 2010 at 3:06 pm

  3. I completely get what you’re saying . Anytime someone calls me a racist name I get both angry and sad. Angry because I can’t understand why they would want to deliberately degrade me by calling me a name. And sad because it hurts that the what makes me the “me” is something that is being used against me.

    rphilp88

    January 23, 2010 at 7:32 pm


Leave a Reply

