Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Double Standard

with 3 comments

So I was sitting in turlington waiting for my next class to start and I noticed an interracial couple, a black young man and white young woman,  casually making their way to where ever it is they were going. I tend to notice in interracial relationships, it commonly consists of a black male and white female. Why are there less couples in reverse?  I’m pretty sure  those couples do exist, but for some reason I don’t usually see those couples walking around. When black males date outside their race, it is somewhat accepted now, however, when a black female dates outside her race there is this stigma or act of betrayal against black men. Do black women not get the same opportunties to find love where ever it leads her?

Written by tif7

January 22, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The scenario you described is an interesting phenomenon. There does seem to be a double standard when comparing the dating pattterns of black men in relation to black women. I am a black female who has been dating a white guy for two years. We do get a lot of stares when we are out because it is very uncommon to see an interracial relationship involving a white male and a black female. I don’t really know why this is. I got a lot of criticism when I initially began dating my boyfriend whereas I am certain no one would have flinched if it were the other way around. Ironically, black men often prefer dating white women (Tiger Woods). Essentially, skin color should be irrelevant when choosing a mate, but our society still finds the need to judge and stereotype.

    chrissybear

    January 22, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  2. ha ha that is kind of funny, but I don’t think it has anything to do with black females betraying black males because if a person wants to find his or her soul mate, color will not be a factor in that decision.I do however; think that white males might feel a little intimidated to approach a black females whereas it is very easy for a black male to approach a white female. I think that might play more of a factor than anything else.

    jobyjob

    January 22, 2010 at 11:13 pm

  3. Not only do I agree with what you said about black men considering a black woman dating a white man a betrayal, but I believe that black women would or do still see black men dating white women as a betrayal as well. Interracial dating, whether the man be white or black, still carries a stigma, even though we might think our society has become more accepting. I do not think we have reached a point where skin color does not matter.

    dmg24

    January 23, 2010 at 1:07 am


Leave a Reply

