Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

The Holiday

with 3 comments

I watched the Holiday twice this weekend. The second time I watched it I realized there were no black people in it. I mean I did not see one single black person; not even an extra in the background. It’s not a big deal, I’m there are plenty of movies lke this but I was just a little shocked, especially since the movie is not that old. The one good thing I can say about this is that not stereotypes of black people were perpetuated.

Written by laika305

December 7, 2009 at 1:12 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have yet to see this movie, but I am pretty shocked to hear that there were not any black people in the film. I thought this was a movie about Hispanics, am I right? If so, why wouldn’t they have at least one black person in the film. Maybe it is a way to disasscoiate the Hispanic community from the black community. This is weird to me because I grew up surrounded by hispanics. Where I come from, it was cool for a black person to date a hispanic because the children would be “mixed” with pretty hair and light skin.

    Antoinette Lester

    December 9, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    • I see where you are coming from. The movie is not about Hispanics though; it is about An American woman and a British woman who switch houses to get away from their everyday lives.

      laika305

      December 9, 2009 at 6:04 pm

  2. This video is obviously a great example of nonprofessional behavior. Once again another poor choice of words from a public figure.Many different people use certain racial slanders throughout their home, and their racism often can transfer to the public.

    medusmango

    January 19, 2010 at 2:32 am


Leave a Reply

