Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

“Would you ever date a…?”

with one comment

The other day a friend I were talking about relationships.  We were having typical silly “girl” talk, such as what our ideal man is etc.  She asked me if I would “ever date anyone of a different race, like a black guy or whatever?”  I understand that it is a question that one might ask because of the stigmas and negative perspectives on mixing races, but it made me sad that these type of questions are still prevalent-and even asked.  Even for my own friend, who knows my character, for her ask me this type of question made me step back and give her a confused look.  I am not going to judge someone based on their race, color or even height.  Along with the overly popular saying “don’t judge a book by its cover,” sure I can paint an idea of my “dreamboat man” but it doesn’t mean I am going to rule out other considerations if they don’t look like the guy that I have sketched in my head.

Written by jubol

December 6, 2009 at 2:20 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well some people just aren’t attracted to people of different races. It has nothing to do with their race, it’s an attraction thing. I’m not physically attracted to black men, it doesn’t mean I’m racist, or even that I’m ruling them out, I’m just not generally attracted to them like I am other types of guys.
    And some people will say they wont date outside their race for the simple fact that they aren’t exposed to other races.
    Some people will say that they wont date other people based on race, but I feel like that is less and less of an issue as time goes on.

    kmurph2688

    December 6, 2009 at 3:04 am


Leave a Reply

