Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

My Conclusions

with one comment

I thought since this is my last post I would summarize all that I have learned in this class, while taking into consideration my views on race before this class, and present my conclusions on racism in America. Before this class, I was one who did not see racism often, actually almost never, and I myself am a minority. I have always had friends of all different races, attend a church where just about every nation is represented in the congregation, and live in a neighborhood that consist of whites, blacks, hispanics, and asians. Because of this, I must admit I was totally surprised when the discussion of segregation in America came up. I had no clue that this was an in issue in America that is still prevelant today. There were a few other topics discussed in this class that shocked me as well. So one thing is for sure, my eyes have been enlightened to fact that yes, people will be people, and to assume that everyone was raised like me would be wrong. Some people will always have difficulty treating other races different then themselves as equals, because of how they were raised and what they have or have not been exposed to. Although I strongly believe that there is always a flip side to every coin. Therefore my conclusion is that racism is still a serious issue and should not be ignored although the flip side is that equality is not a fairytale utopia that can never be achieved, but just as there are those who ignorantly act and behave racist, there are those in America who truly are not color blind, and equality along with respect for other races is a natural occurrence in their lives. So I believe this class has helped me to achieve a healthy balance no longer am I blind to racism, but I am aware of its presence while still remaining aware of the fact that neither is it under every little rock. 😉

Written by raquelfreytes

December 4, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s good insight. I would have to agree with everything you said

    giotorres89

    December 4, 2009 at 9:26 pm


Leave a Reply

