Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Stereotypes

with 4 comments

In a different class, we have to design research proposals. One student’s research proposal was to look at the historical stereotype of Asians as bad drivers, and his research was to see if attitudes about racism are changing with movies that involve Asians as drivers.
To me, this seemed ridiculous. There are certainly good Asian drivers. There are also actors who can pretend to be good at driving. This is comparable to Neil Patrick Harris doing Old Spice commercials and saying “listen to me, I played a doctor on TV!” People’s attitudes on driving are not going to change as a result of a small of number of action-driving movies. While I certainly agree that movies can affect cultural images and status, this is just not a significant factor.
As far as the Asians being bad at driving factor- well, thats still true. Seriously. It must be like their missing alcohol digestive gene, they have a missing driving skill gene.

Written by ahartzog

November 30, 2009 at 6:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow lol. Do you think that your opinion of Asians being bad drivers is the result of a stereotype too? I don’t know if Asians are bad drivers or not, I have yet to read or hear anything about it. As far as movies are concerned, I think viewers find it hard to separate what they see on T.V. from real life. I find it interesting though that someone is researching stereotypes surrounding Asians. I usually hear of research surrounding just blacks or hispanics. This shows that discrimination against Asians is becoming more widely known.

    Antoinette Lester

    November 30, 2009 at 7:01 pm

  2. Antoinette, he was being sarcastic about his comment… I would know, he’s downstairs doing dishes and breaking gender stereotypes as we speak.

    I agree that a few movies are not going to affect opinions, but I do think that years of watching movies will. I wont lie, I think black people are fast and good at sports because I grew up watching movies and tv that showed black people being excellent at sports.

    kmurph2688

    November 30, 2009 at 10:56 pm

  3. I was reminded of this post yesterday when I went apartment hunting with my friends. Somehow the stereotype of Asians being bad drivers came up twice. Both of them seemed to believe the stereotype held true in most cases. Before reading this entry, I had never even heard of this stereotype.

    erom13

    December 2, 2009 at 9:53 pm

  4. I was reminded of this today while looking at a clip of Wanda Sykes joking about Tiger Woods. She said “the Black in him bought the Cadillac, and the Asian in him crashed it”. This stereotype is obviously quite widespread and used in jokes as if it’s no big deal.

    erom13

    December 9, 2009 at 4:57 pm


Leave a Reply

