Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

The black face in the media

leave a comment »

Like I said in the other post, I was watching a lot of television the other day. Well me and my niece had a movie night and we watched the Little Rascals. I believe most people have watched this movie, but for those that don’t its about neighborhood kids (a group of young boys) who are friends and apart of the He-man Woman Haters Club. The club is being jeopardized because Alfa(the main character) is falling madly in love with the precious spunky Darla. It just tells of their adventures of Alfa trying to get Darla back from the rich kid Waldo, and other adventures they have within the movie. Anyways, what I noticed is that the creator made the children on an equal plane…if they were black white, boy or girl. No one was over anyone. what is notable is that the gang of children included both african american and females in leading roles at a time where both groups were heavily discriminated against and rather common place. I did not like how the Buckwheat the little black kid was portrayed. They made his character seem sort of slow, for instance when the fire started and him and another did not know the number to 911 or that they were standing right in front of a fire station. The kid lacked a bit of common sense. After research I learned that the character’s role was changed in the animated series after controversy. The new producers made him to be an ingenious little boy who created devices for the gang. I thought to myself, why it couldn’t be like that from the beginning. I’m not sure if I am just looking into this too deep for no reason. Then me and my niece watched Sydney white which is supposed to be the modern-day version of snow-white. The movie is set on a college campus where Amanda Bynes(Sydney White) is attending. She gets kicked out her sorority house and the 7 dwarfs who are renamed as the 7 dorks let her live with them in their “cottage”. Sleepy was played by a black guy, who slept in all of his classes and was super lazy. I’m not sure if this is a coincidence or if this was a form of racism, but perhaps like I said I may just be looking too deep into things.

Written by kherbert09

November 29, 2009 at 3:39 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

