Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Does it take a villiage to keep a marriage together?

with one comment

I found another article pretty interesting: http://www.cnn.com/2009/LIVING/07/20/bia.strong.black.marriage/index.html

I was thinking one day of marriage. I was wondering who would be my role model for my marriage when the time came. Honestly no one came to mind. My parents never married. My mother never married. My dad was always in different relationships, engaged once and then finally got married to another woman. To me that just did not seem healthy and I did not feel like I could rely on my parents, so I thought about my boyfriend’s parents, and his mom got married after failed relationships and his dad never married. This gave me a grim outlook on marriage if him and I was to ever marry. I’ve noticed that black marriages are starting to end in divorces more. And black love isn’t as strong as it used to be like grandma and dranddad’s ya know. Which is sad because there was a time where marriage was a sacred thing, and divorce was almost unheard of. So I came across this article and it shine a little light on histrically why its like it. I would have never guess that social ties from migration would have a correlation….

I got curious as how to hold a black marriage together and this kind of gave me clarity as to why.

Written by kherbert09

November 29, 2009 at 5:19 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like your opinion on marriage. I think if marriage is suppose to happen, it will happen. But i don’t think you should spend your whole life looking for it. Every culture has different opinion about marriage. On culture thinks marriage should be arranged, and other cultures think marriage does not exist.

    badal23

    November 29, 2009 at 10:54 pm


Leave a Reply

