Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Air plane seating

with 6 comments

My parents planned a trip to India. Of course they are Indian. So we called our travel agent and got it planned. After few day go by, we called to found out what are seats going to be, because the date of departure was getting close. So, he tell us that we should be prepared to get the seats in the back of the airplane. He said, ” that is were all the Indians sits”. Our travel agent is Indian also. So it was not a racist comment. So, the day of departure, my mom calls and she told me the travel agent was right. But I was curious if the airplane do that on purpose. Anybody have a opinion about this.

Written by badal23

November 29, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that is such a weird comment, regardless if the person is indian or not i think it is inappropriate comment. I doubt they do it on purpose but by the agent saying that thats were all the indians sit makes you think if they are.

    mzarandy1

    November 30, 2009 at 12:18 am

  2. This seems like blatant racism to me. It is very strange that the travel agent is Indian though. I must disagree that it was not a racist comment just because the agent was Indian. I think it’s possible for people to be racist against their own races, although it is bizarre when it does happen.

    sgaviria

    November 30, 2009 at 2:23 am

  3. I’m South Asian (Bangladeshi) and I would not put up with something like that. Like the posters above, that seems like racism to me (racial profiling 101). The travel agent, upon learning you guys were Indian, merely assumed that 1) you would automatically want to sit around other people like yourselves and 2) the back of the plane (an area I personally despise because it’s in the same vicinity as the bathrooms) is a place you would want to sit. None of the airplanes I have flown with have done this and I have traveled quite a bit. The planes I’ve been on (British Airways, Emirates, American Airplanes, Virgin, etc…) all try to sit people on a first come first serve basis. Usually the people that book ahead have the most discretion with their seats. I really don’t think it works in a ethnic fashion. I always seem to be seated next to a white Brit every time I travel but that could be just pure coincidence.

    zsayed

    November 30, 2009 at 4:01 pm

  4. Wow I am surprised he said something like this. It could have been that they got their tickets late and since its first come first serve they were going to be in the back anyway but it seems pretty weird that he tied it to racism.

    samhag

    November 30, 2009 at 6:06 pm

  5. I really don’t know what to say about this. The people sitting in front of the plane were most likely tourists. This just goes to show that countries that benefit greatly from tourism treat the tourists very well while disregarding the feelings of thier own citizens. Tourism in places like Mexico and other countries in Central America is a prime example of this.

    Antoinette Lester

    November 30, 2009 at 6:49 pm

  6. First of all, how close was the departure date to the time you were booking? If it were in a week’s proximity, I would justify that possibly the only seats available were the ones in the back. And because the travel agent realizes that these seats are the least desirable, he tried to make them sound good by saying other people of their race were back there anyway. If this be the case, it’s a silly thing to say, but travel agents/sellers will say anything to sell their product, right?

    aunanan7

    November 30, 2009 at 8:26 pm


Leave a Reply

