Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

“That’s White People stuff”

with 4 comments

During Thanksgiving dinner some how we got on the subject of people being abnormally attached to monuments and electronic devices. We were talking about whether or not someone might be able to one day take another person to court for stealing their milo (basically an electronic peron). My dad then brought up a story about a woman who married the Eiffel Tower. Then he said ” that’s white people stuff, I can guarantee you that black people aren’t doing that.” Now like so many times in the past when something like this came up my initial reaction was to laugh. It’s always been okay because I since I was younger it was just known that white people tend to be more crazy than black people. I have no idea came about but it’s alway been normal. Inevitably when you get to college you learn a lot of new things and I realized that it really isn’t right to say “oh that’s white people stuff.” I can’t lie, I still say things to that effect sometimes because I’ve been doing it for so long but I try to catch myself.

Is this an example of black people being racist towards white people? Or is it okay to say that certain people are more likely to do things like marry a monument or  something else crazy?

Written by laika305

November 28, 2009 at 7:58 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m not sure ya know. i tend to even say “that’s some crazy s*** whit people would do.” I don’t think we are so much being racist, I think perhaps we are stereotyping white behavior ya know. Not sure though. That’s actually a good question and something I never thought of. Lol and the funny thing about this is I’m such a hypocrite with this. When I was a kid, I wanted to skateboard, but dismissed doing it because I saw it has a guy thing. As I got older I dismissed it as a white people thing. When I got older, I got into skateboarding…funny because I’m a black female.

    kherbert09

    November 29, 2009 at 3:55 am

  2. Stereotypes are a funny thing. I dated a guy in high school that refused to eat watermelon or fried chicken because he didn’t want to perpetuate the stereotype that ‘all black people love fried chicken and watermelon.’ I’m never got a clear answer as to why he felt that way, but he never did let up on it. I feel bad that he missed out on my mother’s southern style fried chicken just because of the stereotype he was afraid of proving.

    bsmail

    November 29, 2009 at 5:49 am

  3. I think that the comment itself may be considered racist. However, I wonder as to how harmful this comment may be. It does not necessary seem to put white people down, but that view may only be due to the fact that whites are the majority, privileged race. Were the comment directed toward a minority, I believe that it would definitively be seen as racist. However, in the context and with the world being the way it is, it does not seem to be causing harm.

    victorianelson

    November 29, 2009 at 1:48 pm

  4. lol. I think no mattern your race, there will always be crazy people. To say that something like marrying monuments is white is a little crazy and ill informed I think, but I wouldn’t consider it entirely racist. Stereotypical maybe, but racist is a little extreme. At point something becomes racist and not stereiotypical, however, I have no idea.

    lehnertsl

    March 6, 2010 at 11:21 pm


Leave a Reply

