Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Thanksgiving

with 5 comments

Just a quick topic i wanna gauge opinion on. After looking over twitter and facebook alot, i saw some people bash Thanksgiving because of the realistic concept that happened and not so much the fairy tale disney version of happiness and prosperity. Do we feel that this holiday has more negative connotations behind it or are we all willing to look to the blindside of this holiday and focus on the positive it has created over the years

Written by bmax2816

November 28, 2009 at 1:22 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Honestly I think most people look to the blindside. I mean look at all the religions that aren’t celebrated for what they actually are. Christmas and Santa Claus, Easter bunny eggs, Halloween; Thanksgiving is no different.

    laika305

    November 28, 2009 at 8:06 am

  2. Most people definitely look to the blindside of holidays. Thanksgiving is now a big dinner with your family that includes similar foods throughout families across America and a parade. Christmas is about getting/receiving gifts and spending time with loved ones. In most cases people never bring up the origin of the holiday or incorporate into their celebration.

    derekjwood

    November 28, 2009 at 4:10 pm

  3. We definately tend to avoid the ugly truth. I often still wonder why we get Columbus day off…

    elfrat

    November 28, 2009 at 8:34 pm

  4. its funny how alot of our holidays always seem like fairytale assumptions when in fact theres nothing but lies. but we just go with them i think because its just a day off or a reason to buy someone a gift etc. so sad

    dtrincado

    November 28, 2009 at 10:17 pm

  5. I caught myself thinking about Thanksgiving at the end of the night and I started to feel guilty. I felt horrible at the fact that I didn’t prioritize my family. I never really thought of Thanksgiving as a day of praise until my boyfriend’s family pointed it out. My eye’s were blind from the fact of praise-worthiness and everything that the U.S. has to be thankful for. I then realized how fortunate I am to be born a white individual. I do not want to be a racist without racism. I understand what the problem is.

    jubol

    November 29, 2009 at 2:09 am


Leave a Reply

