Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Second Life

with 6 comments

I was in my Business Wrting class on Friday and we had a presentation on new technology and how that would affect how people communicate with eachother. So she gave a presentation on this thing called Second Life. Itsa 3-d virtual world, but its a ligit virtual global community. People host meetings, converse, build relationships and do all sorts of things on Second Life. However, you can be anyone or anything you want to. So I wonder, how would this affect new prespectives on race, religion, ethnicity, social structure. I’ve already heard that more than half of the females on Second Life are actually males. In a virtual world were people can do or be anything they want to be,I can only wonder how racism would translate.

Written by giotorres89

November 23, 2009 at 4:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I actually know someone who studied something like that (I believe it was a online videogame) for a research project. After a few months of observation, he concluded people in general online tended to be a lot more cruel and obnoxious because they could do so without fear of physical retribution. In the environment he studied, people frequently used racial terms and really did not care about their actions because to them it was not real. It was also noted that these people would not act the same in real life as they did in virtual reality.

    zsayed

    November 23, 2009 at 5:31 pm

  2. Wow, this just seems sad to me. I do not see any positive affects coming from this. I have to agree with the above comment. If anything people would just act worst. Wanting to be and acting like someone you are not is not healthy at all in every level of the aspect.

    raquelfreytes

    November 23, 2009 at 6:18 pm

  3. I think a positive can come out of this. If people did not know about racism, than how would they distinguish people. I know that people in that virtual world would wonder, why are “this” people or person different than me. If no one states the negativity of being different and being there own individual, than I think people in that virtual world would not jump on the band wagon of racism.

    badal23

    November 23, 2009 at 9:24 pm

  4. I also think that negativity can come from this but I think racism would be a major issue.

    porterd06

    November 23, 2009 at 11:30 pm

  5. I heard about this in high school a few years back, and it’s just so odd to me. We read an article about a man who was so entrapped by Second Life that he would literally sit at his computer and play all day long. His wife would bring him dinner and he would not even realize it was there for hours. That would be interesting to run some tests to see which races were the majority or if minorities chose to create characters that were of their race or of another. I’m sure racism is more common with games like these because like we’ve talked about in class, people are much more likely to voice their racist views anonymously on the internet than in real life.

    sranson08

    November 24, 2009 at 8:09 pm

  6. This sounds really interesting, I agree with the poster before me that I couldn’t help but wonder if those playing ‘Second Life’ change not only the gender of their characters to ones that are different than what they are in real life, but their race and appearance. Perhaps this game shows how much racism is a part of our society and how much it really affects all those around us, enough for individuals to want to change their whole lives if possible.

    alinak88

    November 25, 2009 at 2:36 am


Leave a Reply

