Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Hispanics are Freaks…

with 4 comments

I was with some friends and their friends. We were deciding on which after party to go to after we watched two probates, an Asian sorority probate and a Hispanic fraternity probate. One of my friends friends said “lets go to the Hispanic after party, that’s where all the freaks at.” WHAT?????? What makes things more disturbing is that’s not the first time I have heard that before. I do not want to be known as something other then my name. I just want to know where did that connotation come from?? Is it because of there own experience with one or two hispanics??

Written by lc8908

November 22, 2009 at 6:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have heard this many times before, usually said by non-Hispanic men. I hate hearing that Hispanics are exotic and that we all dance and act a certain way. Pitbull and other reggaeton songs should not be used as a basis for opinions about Hispanics.

    brecal

    November 22, 2009 at 8:29 pm

  2. The connotation is there because some people have, as noted by brecal above, the perception that Hispanic people are “exotic” and lusty. Like most stereotypes, this one overgeneralizes based on a few observations. Just because the Hispanic you see act like this dosen’t mean it holds true for every member of that group. The fact that Hispanic men and women are also often portrayed as being wild and oversexed in the US media (Jennifer Lopez’s butt) may also fuel this stereotype.

    zsayed

    November 23, 2009 at 5:40 pm

  3. The connotation comes from what we get from the media and the stereotypes we tend to have for some groups of people. Most of us know that the stereotype does not apply to everyone that classifies as Hispanic but the more we tend to see it around us the more we tend to want to believe it.

    3graffiti

    November 25, 2009 at 6:14 pm

  4. I agree that the media has a lot to do with this stereotype being so popular. It’s very unfortunate. I’ve been to parties where guys try to dance with me thinking I would be ok with them being more grabby than usual, not realizing that I am the most conservative of my group of friends. This assumption is something I’m used to, which is pretty sad.

    erom13

    November 25, 2009 at 10:33 pm


Leave a Reply

